Hmmm…

May 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

I think there is probably a thesis, or at least an article, to be written about the way that a favourite place for old Anglophone beefs about continental philosophy to play out is – deeply inappropriately in my view – the obituaries of figures who were involved in that world. I remember obituaries of Derrida and Baudrillard as examples that particularly stick in the mind as out-and-out hatchet jobs.

I’m not going to do it the favour of linking to it here, but there’s a classic piece, if not of hatchet-jobbery, then at least of conservative sneery-sneeriness in a British-broadsheet-paper-that-sounds-a-little-like-“The Bailey Hell-o-graph” to mark the death of Christine Brooke-Rose.

The piece got up my nose, readers, it got up my nose. Think about me reading it so you don’t have to, if you like…

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hmmm… at gubbinry.

meta

