Ann Quin

November 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

I just stumbled across this facebook page set up by Carol Burns, about Ann Quin. (Carol Burns, I imagine, is the Carol Burns who wrote Infatuation in New Writers 7 (Calder and Boyars, 1967) and The Narcissist (citation ditto), and was married to Alan Burns, who wrote Europe After the Rain (Calder, 1965)?):

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ann-Quin/372495999441?ref=ts

I am bowled over by it. And it is on facebook! And I am especially bowled over by the reading list.

Berg is a very good novel. And I think Passages has its labyrinthine, hot-summer-journey, S&My charms too. And Three always seemed to me a good product of its time.

A few years ago I picked up a first edition of Passages  from Foyles on Charing Cross Road. It was sandwiched in between two other books, flat, flattened, completely block-like, sort of an echo of an uncut book, and truly looked liked it had never been picked up, never been touched. I bought it for £6.95 and felt I might get arrested on the way out for accidentally coming across a book, bought new, about 40 years after it was published.

(Another top-dog Jupiter Book front cover – not from my own collection, sadly)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ann Quin at gubbinry.

meta

